International Performances in a Beautiful Secluded Town

After participating in a student festival in Norway, I didn’t want to miss another chance to meet people and exchange culture in International Student Week in Ilmenau (ISWI)  2011. It was such a great year to return to Europe and to experience a lot of new things :)!

Image

During the ISWI, the committee covered accommodation and food by letting Technische Universität Ilmenau Students and Ilmenau citizens to host us in their houses. For me, it’s such a good way to experience the life in Ilmenau with a new people ;). I felt that in 10 days, I was already blending with the environment of this student city.

Image

Let me introduce my hosts, Melli and Mia. The best hosts in ISWI 2011!!! Lucky me, that they were good chefs as well. I remember when Raja (another Indonesian participant who lived in the same apartment) used to steal all breakfast! We warned them that not all Indonesians are like us, gourmands! However, they didn’t mind and even let us to make Indonesian “Nasi Goreng and Bakwan” Meeting at their place ;).

Image

I have to admit that the Indonesian delegations for ISWI 2011 were fantastic.

Image

We were enacted and able to build inclusive relation, especially, when we did performance in International Brunch.  In just one night, we were practicing and rehearsing our skills like dancing and singing traditional cultural heritage. I was practicing traditional Indonesian song “Yangko Rambe Yangko” and presented traditional Javanese costume “Kebaya” with other Indonesian participant, Juli! And the result of our collaboration and  hard work was amazing!  The stage was ours! Many people liked and appreciated this biggest performance in International Brunch 2011. We performed Saman Dance, Peacock Dance, Gundul Gundul Pacul Song, and many more…

 Image

As usual, we exchanged our cultures with other participants around the world and made lots of pictures together for memories :). You may also see how great the event was through the video bellow!

Image

Oh yeah, one of the reason to participate in festival is to gain some knowledge. I was glad to be accepted in Freedom and Culture Group Work because that’s what I was focus on. We made great video to present our country which achieved many positive feedback from others group works. I will post the link of the video later on when I get the link from my group leader ;).

Image

I also had a unforgettable souvenir from Romania, “Strongest Bank Note“. It’s hard to tear it off even with two of us :D.

Image

We also had a day off in ISWI in which we were able to choose some activities, like hiking, shopping, or visiting other cities. I chose to hike because I’d never done it before. Ilmenau has a beautiful scenery, no wonder that Goethe used to spend holidays there. Now days, his inspirational spot was known as Goethe Path or Goethe Wanderweg. I also visited Goethe Hut and Tower of Kickelhanh that is similar to Rapunzel Tower.

In the town, I didn’t waste a chance to greet Herr Goethe and took a picture with him!

Image

You might didn’t know how beautiful many secluded cities in this world are. If I haven’t participate din ISWI 2011, probably I wouldn’t have been able to witness how beautiful a city in Thüringen is. The city that is “invaded” by hundreds of international students every two years!

Travel and be the witness of beautiful places and events that might be hidden in the corner of the world!

Gelato Traveler, Ilmenau, 13th to 22nd May 2011

1 Comment

Filed under Germany, Travel and Culture, Travel and Festival, Travel and People

One response to “International Performances in a Beautiful Secluded Town

  1. I perform see eye to eye with all the ideas you’ve existing in your send. They are very realistic and will without doubt composition. Immobile, the posts are vastly succinct in support of novices. Might you please extend them a little as of subsequently time? Thanks for the post.

Leave a comment