Great People in a Fabulous Festival

All roads lead to Rome! I guess it wasn’t really proper to my situation. I used to dream about visiting Rome. It would have been the first European country that I had visited. Unexpectedly, a country in northern part became my first European country that I stepped on.

When I was a student, for me it was the best period in my life to travel. Being “penny-less” wasn’t a problem! My team and I, we could get sponsors. Even though, mostly the sponsors’ fund didn’t fully cover my expenses, but my spirit was still high up in the sky ;). Indeed, food and accommodation during the events were provided by committee. And yeah, in the name of education, my parents’ support helped a lot.

Image

Yeah, I was so lucky to be invited to International Student Festival in Trondheim (ISFiT) 2011, Norway. It was my first student festival because before I wasn’t a person that was updated about so many student festivals around the world. But ISFiT has its own popularity between the students as the first and the biggest student festival in Europe.

Indeed, it’s the only student festival that organizes “Student Peace Prize”, an award on behalf of all students in Norway for laureats around the world who have already devoted their skills to make a better society in their country. In order to honor them, the ISFiT participants do Walk of Peace from Studentersamfundet Trondheim to the venue.

Image

On Student Peace Prize, we could wear the fancy dress like attending Nobel Peace Prize ceremony. But some students liked to keep it cool 😉

Image

Participating in student festivals is also a way to meet great students around the world who have the same interests because mostly we are divided into groups. I was lucky to be accepted in Theater Workshop where I could perform and practice theater with some talented students from different continents, like Europe, Asia and Africa.

Moreover, I also celebrated my 21th birthday with them! Even, one of my workshop coordinators baked me a chocolate cake. Yeah, one of the greatest and unforgettable birthday ever! Even, the ISFiT committee organized surprise circus show at the same time. What can be better :)…

Image

Not only meeting with international students, I also had chances to meet great Indonesian students from different universities in Indonesia and overseas. The Indonesian Student Community in Trondheim also specially made a meeting to welcome us.

 Image

I also had a chance to try skiing. But, I wasn’t that good and liked to eat voraciously oranges, hot dogs and hot chocolate more. My tummy couldn’t get enough when it’s -10 degrees!

Image

Exchanging cultures, enjoying music and dancing together…

Image

I didn’t forget to buy CDs of my favorite Norwegian duo band, Kings of Convenience ;).

Image

And of course, I also had a siesta to go around beautiful Trondheim while eating Gelato that wouldn’t melt :3

If we’re young and have passion to travel, keep the spirit! Begin by dreaming and believing, then trying, trying and trying…Until here come the chances to see other countries that may we aren’t expecting but more beautiful when we see it with our own eyes…

Travel, meet people, make friends, enjoy the moments and remember all of it ’til the rest of our life!

Gelato Traveler,  Trondheim, 10th – 20th February 2011

1 Comment

Filed under Norway, Travel and Culture, Travel and Festival, Travel and People

One response to “Great People in a Fabulous Festival

  1. Pingback: Youth Go Travel Goes to Krakow | youthgotravel

Leave a comment